Campus Advisory Access the latest updates, FAQs, and resources for the Adelphi community on the global coronavirus pandemic. » COVID-19 Updates

Coronavirus Updates on Operations: Department or campus operations may be modified during this time. Please call or email the department for more information or visit

Richard Lodge Prize

It is a great pleasure to announce that Dr. Katina Walters has been selected to receive the 2019 Richard Lodge Prize from Adelphi University School of Social Work. Named for the late Dr. Richard Lodge, a leading social work educator and Adelphi University professor, the prize honors social work educators for their outstanding contributions to the profession through the development of social work theory and practice.

The Lodge Prize will be awarded at the School’s annual Alumni and Friends Event, on Friday, May 3, 2019, where Dr. Walters will deliver the keynote address entitled: “Holhpokunna hatak chanspo il okchanyachi: Transcending Historical Trauma and Living the Dreams the Ancient Ones Dreamed for Us”.

Karina L. Walters, an enrolled member of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, is the Associate Dean for Research, the Katherine Hall Chambers Scholar at the University of Washington (UW). Dr. Walters is the Director and Principal Investigator of the Indigenous Wellness Research Institute at UW, one of 16 National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities Comprehensive Centers of Excellence and one of two devoted to American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) research in the country. Currently, she is active in NIDA’s American Indian Scientific Committee and is Chair of the NIH’s Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (IRINAH) Committee.

Dr. Walters received her B.A. (sociology) in 1987, her M.S.W. (clinical) in 1990, and her Ph.D. in 1995 all from the University of California, Los Angeles. After serving on faculty as an Assistant and Associate Professor at Columbia University School of Social Work (1995‐2001), she joined the University of Washington faculty in 2001 and became Full Professor in 2011. She has served as Director of the Doctoral Program (2003‐05) and as Associate Dean for Research (since 2012). 

Past recipients of the Richard Lodge Prize include:

  • Dr. Larry Davis, University of Pittsburgh (2017)
  • Dr. Michael Seradden, Washington  University (2015)
  • Dr. Lorraine Gutierrez, University of Michigan (2013)
  • Dr. Susan Kemp, University of Washington (2011)
  • Dr. Sarah Gehlert, Washington University in St. Louis (2009)
  • Dr. Marsha Mailick Seltzer, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2006)
  • Dr. Sharon Berlin, University of Chicago (2002)
  • Dr. Lawrence Shulman, State University of New York at Buffalo School of Social Work (1999)
  • Dr. Dennis Saleebey and Dr. Ann Weick, University of Kansas (1995)
  • Dr. Hans S. Falck, Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University (1993)
  • Dr. Howard Goldstein, Case Western Reserve University (1991)
  • Dr. Carel Germain, University of Connecticut School of Social Work (1989)
Follow Adelphi Social Work at:   

For further information, please contact:

School of Social Work
p – 516.877.4300