School of Social Work Leadership

We’re committed to excellence in social work.

From teaching and mentoring to community engagement and field experience, we’re constantly working to provide a vast range of high-quality student opportunities. We aim to ensure that every graduate of the Adelphi University School of Social Work is grounded in both theory and practical experience—and thoroughly prepared to make an impact.

Deans

Andrew Safyer, Ph.D.Andrew Safyer, Ph.D.
Dean
Social Work Building, Room 201
p – 516.877.4354
e – asafyer@adelphi.edu 

Peter I. Chernack, Ph.D.Peter I. Chernack, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Program Development
Social Work Building, Room 209
p – 516.877.4350
e – pchernack@adelphi.edu

laura-quirosLaura Quiros, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Director of M.S.W. Program
Social Work Building, Room 221
p – 516.877.4439
e – lquiros@adelphi.edu

Chairs

Judy Fenster, Ph.D.Judy Fenster, Ph.D.
Faculty Chair for Curriculum and Instruction
Social Work Building, Room 319
p – 516.877.4361
e – fenster@adelphi.edu

Directors

James Amato
Assistant Director for Field Education
Manhattan Center, Room 243
p – 212.965.8340
e – amato@adelphi.edu

Beverly Araujo Dawson 
Director of Hybrid M.S.W. Program
p – 516.877.4382 
e – baraujo@adelphi.edu

Sheila Edwards-Robinson
Director of Hauppauge Program
p – 631.300.4350
e – sedwards-robinson@adelphi.edu

Audrey Freshman
Director of Continuing Education
and Professional Development

Social Work Building, Room 235
p – 516.877.4339
e – afreshman@adelphi.edu

Jamie Gergen
Assistant Director for Field Education
and Student Services

Hauppauge Center
p – 516.237.8609
e – gergen@adelphi.edu

Cheryl McAuliffe
Director of Undergraduate Program
Social Work Building, Room 225
p – 516.877.4362
e – cmcauliffe@adelphi.edu

Ohiro Oni-Eseleh
Director of Hudson Valley Center
Hudson Valley Center
p – 845.471.3348 x8101
e – oni-eseleh@adelphi.edu

Subadra Panchanadeswaran
Director of Ph.D. Program

Social Work Building, Room 229
p – 516.877.4310
e – panchanadeswaran@adelphi.edu

Leslie Pereira
Assistant Director for Field Education
Hudson Valley Center
p – 845.471.3348 x 2102
e – lpereira@adelphi.edu

Andrew J. Peters
Director of Manhattan Center Program
Manhattan Center
p – 212.965.8340 x8358
e – apeters2@adelphi.edu

Schanica Pickens
Director of Student Engagement and Academic Success
Social Work Building, Room 237
p – 516.877.4407
e – spickens@adelphi.edu 

Livia Polise
Assistant Director of Field Education
Social Work Building, Room 241
p – 516.877.4351
e – lpolise@adelphi.edu

Elizabeth Szpilka, LMSW
Director of Outreach, Enrollment and Professional Advisement
p – 516.877.4384/60
e – eszpilka@adelphi.edu

Raquel M. Warley
Director of Field Education
p – 516.877.4374
e – rwarley@adelphi.edu

 

Administration

Suzanne Marmo-Roman
Student Affairs Coordinator
Hauppauge Center
p – 516.833.8182
e – marmo-roman@adelphi.edu

Michel Montalvo
Student Affairs Coordinator 
Manhattan Center – Second Floor 
e – mmontalvo@adelphi.edu

Susan Rotondo
Student Relations Specialist
Social Work Building, Room 221
p – 516.877.4439
e – rotondo@adelphi.edu

Regina Tracy
Student Affairs Coordinator
Hudson Valley Center
p – 845.471.3348
e – tracy@adelphi.edu

 

For further information, please contact:

School of Social Work
p – 516.877.4300

Did you know...
You can take selected M.S.W. courses in blended or online formats?
Click here to find out more
Be a Lifelong Learner
Advance your skills and earn CEUs at our continuing education workshops.
Browse the schedule
University Bulletin
Get details on program requirements of our degree programs as well as policies and procedures.
Browse academic offerings